CMU skiers place high in 10K


CMU skiers place high in 10K

Colorado Mesa University Nordic ski racers Mira Hopkins and Kacie McCleary placed second and third among females in Sunday’s Grand Mesa Classic collegiate 10K race at Skyway.

CMU’s Tre Anastasia placed third among males.

The top citizen skier, and first female overall, was Christie Aschwanden of Cedaredge. Matt Deeths of Grand Junction finished first among male citizen racers.

Teams from Wyoming, Western State and Air Force competed alongside CMU.

Also on Grand Mesa Saturday and Sunday, CMU hosted a pair of sprint races.

CMU placed three women in the top 10 — Hopkins (third), McCleary (eighth) and Courtney Berg (ninth) — on Saturday.

Wyoming’s Sierra Jech won the women’s race.

On the men’s side, Anastasia from CMU finished the qualifer in second place and ended up in fourth place. Wyoming’s Kyle Bochanski won the race.

On Sunday, CMU skiers claimed two of the top three spots on the women’s podium, with Hopkins finishing second and McCleary third. Jech again took the top spot among women competitors.

Anastasia finished third in the men’s race behind race winner Chris Lange of Western State and runner-up Patrick Rodgers (Wyoming). CMU’s Koehn placed sixth.


College Basketball

Katrina Selsor scores RMAC honor


Katrina Selsor got back into the flow of the offense last weekend for the Colorado Mesa women’s basketball team, averaging 16.5 points a game in wins over Metro State and Regis.

The senior forward from Glenwood Springs was selected the RMAC offensive player of the week after averaging a double-double to help the No. 4 Mavericks remain undefeated (17-0, 13-0 RMAC). She averaged 14.5 rebounds, including a career-high 17 against Regis.

Selsor has five double-doubles this season, twice on back-to-back nights. She’s averaging 13.6 points and 8.6 rebounds a game.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy