GJ wrestlers place second at Montrose Invitational

Paced by five first-place finishes Saturday, the Grand Junction High School wrestling team finished second at the Montrose Invitational.

Jacob Trujillo (120 pounds), Dylon Thompson (138), Jessie Hoffschneider (160), Gage Casey (170) and Robbi Gonzalez (191) all won titles for the Tigers.

Also placing in the top four for Grand Junction were Jeff Christeleit, third at 113, Jonny Pauli, fourth at 182, and Sam Monahah, second at 285.

Palisade finished fourth at Montrose behind Justin Ray’s 126-pound title. Also placing were Kyanna Martinez, fourth at 106, Dalton Hannigan, second at 120, Daniel Salazar, second at 132, Brice Hawley, second at 160, Eddie Vial, second at 170, Luis Medrano, fourth at 220 and Jory Gardner, fourth at 285.

At the Denver East Invitational, Central placed fifth with 55.5 points. The Warriors were led by Willy Holdren’s title at 152. Also placing in the top four were Dusty Sanchez, third at 120, Anthony Feller, second at 145, Isiah Reyes, second at 160, Caleb Brown, fourth at 182 and Tyler Zook, second at 195.

Fruita Monument had two champions at the Pueblo South Invitational, Isaac Rodriguez (145) and Dallas Bernal (170). The Wildcats placed fifth with 114.5 points.

Also placing in the top four were Matt Bishop, fourth at 120, Kaden Fife, fourth at 138, Aidan Woomer, third at 152, and Jacob Seely, third at 160.


Rampart outscored Grand Junction 16-11 in a wild fourth quarter to claim a 52-49 victory.

The Tigers led 38-36 going into the fourth quarter and the teams went back and forth the final eight minutes.

Justin Whiting scored 21 points for the Tigers (7-4), Broderick Robinson 11 and Casey Burns nine. Grand Junction hit a dozen 3-pointers, with Whiting getting all of his points from behind the arc, but went to the free-throw line only six times, making three.

Plateau Valley 68, Paonia 63: Teddy Grunsy’s 28 points led the Cowboys, with Kyler Smith adding 19.

Plateau Valley clamped down on Paonia’s post players in the fourth quarter and got a few key stops on defense to really from a two-point deficit.

Anthony Roeber had 16 points, Daniel Ford 14 and Zan Anderson 10 for Paonia.


Grand Junction’s 200-yard freestyle relay team of Taylor Kidd, Ellen Atkinson, Stephanie Wahlers and Marina Silva clocked a time of 1 minute, 47.17 seconds to win the event in the Delta New Year Opener.

It was the only event win of the meet for the Tigers, but Silva placed second in the 200 individual medley, with Atkinson third, Wahlers was second in the 50 freestyle, Grayson Young was second in the 1-meter diving, Kidd second in the 100 backstroke and Silva second in the 100 breaststroke.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy