Student Spotlight, Jan. 15, 2013

■ Woody Seagren of Grand Junction was named to the fall 2012 semester dean’s list at Harding University in Searcy, Ark.

■ Palisade High School graduates Chelsea A. Lorimor and Megan Miller were named to the fall 2012 president’s list at Colorado Mesa University.

■ Caitlin Lawshe of Ridgway was named to the fall 2012 semester president’s list at Mississippi University for Women in Columbus, Miss.

■ Paul Stevens of Grand Junction and Kathryn Doll of Meeker were named to the fall 2012 semester dean’s honor roll at Fort Hays State University in Hays, Kan.

■ Jaimie Stephens of Fruita was named to the fall 2012 semester dean’s list at Colorado Mesa University.

Apply for kindergarten

Caprock Academy’s kindergarten open enrollment for 2013-14 will begin Feb. 4.

Completed enrollment packets will be accepted from 8:30 a.m.–3:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday in the administration office (closed Presidents Day, Feb. 18).

The deadline for submitting a packet for kindergarten is 3:30 p.m. Feb. 28. The lottery, which is open to the public, will be at 4 p.m. March 5 at the school, 714 24 1/2 Road.

Informational meetings will be at 6 p.m. Jan. 22, Jan. 28, Feb. 11, Feb. 25, March 11, April 8 and May 6 at the school.

Call 243-1771 or visit for information.

Central teacher certified


Central High School teacher Cynthia Howell was the only teacher in School District 51 to become a National Board Certified Teacher in 2012.

Three District 51 teachers became National Board Certified Teachers in 2011. Forty-five District 51 teachers have active certification, according to the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards website. Colorado had 121 teachers earn certification in 2012, bringing the total number of certified teachers to 763.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

  • Accountant

    Delta-Montrose ElectricAssociation & Elevatecurrent job openi...

  • Deputy Sheriff

    Rio Blanco County iscurrently seeking qualified applicants for i...

  • Full Time Teller/csr

    Full Time Teller/CSRposition with benefits including paid time...

  • Graphic Artist

    The Nickel is looking for a creative, innovative, experienced graphic des...

  • Rn, Lpn Or Ma

    4-5 days/week in Medical Specialty office w/benefits.Experience r...

  • Accounting Technician Iii

    The Colorado StateUniversity Agricultural Experiment Station is currently

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
Advertiser Tearsheet

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy