Symphony to perform ‘American Portrait’

American composers George Bernstein, Leonard Gershwin and Charles Ives will be honored during “American Portrait,” a concert presented by the Grand Junction Symphony Orchestra at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, March 5, at Grand Junction High School, 1400 N. Fifth St.

Ives’ “Variations on America” will open the concert during which there will be the world premiere of Grand Valley middle school composer Nina Cruz’s “Walking Blues.”

Bernstein’s “Symphonic Dances from West Side Story” will complete the first half of the concert.

A Spanish-influenced harp piece “Sonando en Espanol” by contemporary composer Deborah Henson-Conant will open the second half of the evening with a “fiery and beautifully scored harp concerto to be performed by the Grand Junction Symphony’ principal harpist Elise Helmke,” a news release said.

George Gershwin’s “Porgy and Bess: A Symphonic Picture,” based on the musical “Porgy and Bess,” will be the final piece performed.

Tickets range in cost from $15–$25 for adults and $5 for students with a valid ID. Tickets can be purchased at 243-6787,, or the symphony office, 225 N. Fifth St., Suite 120.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy