Montrose County due disaster relief

The U.S. Department of Agriculture designated Montrose County a natural disaster area Tuesday because of crop losses from frost, freezing temperatures and high winds last spring.

The designation was requested by Gov. Bill Ritter earlier this month because the county lost nearly all of its cherry crop because of the bad weather.

In announcing the designation, Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack said it also applies to all “contiguous” counties because they, too, were impacted by those winds and cold temperatures.

That includes Mesa, Delta, Gunnison, Ouray and San Miguel counties in Colorado, and Grand and San Juan counties in Utah.

The designation means farm operations in the eight counties are eligible for low-interest emergency loans from the USDA’s Farm Service Agency. Those operations have eight months to apply for the loans, but they must prove actual crop losses to get them.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy