Student Spotlight, Feb. 18, 2013

■ Brianna Castellini of Grand Junction was named to the fall 2012 semester dean’s list at Pacific University in Forest Grove, Ore.

■ Abbey Schmidt and Adrienne Schmidt, both of Rifle, were named to the fall 2012 semester dean’s list at Concordia University Wisconsin in Mequon, Wis.

■ Jennifer Magner of Delta and Rosemary Jennings of Fruita earned a degree after the fall 2012 semester at Fort Hays State University in Hays, Kan.

Magner received a master’s degree in education administration and Jennings received a master’s degree in liberal studies (literary arts emphasis).

Business leaders to compete at state

Montrose High School and Olathe High School placed first at a district championship for Future Business Leaders of America on Feb. 4 in Grand Junction.

Eleven students from each school who competed in Grand Junction qualified to compete in the Future Business Leaders of America State Leadership Conference this April in Vail.

Qualifying from Montrose are Bridget Bachmann, Keenan Betz, Zach Bieber, Ellen Boddeker, Jacob Hebbel, Conner Hotsenpiller, Casey Jensen, Rayla McShaner, Kara Reeder, Jeff Ronzio and Trent Woodland.

From Olathe High School, qualifiers are Brook Cryer, Fallon Flick, Kendall Franks, Katlyn Gibson, Tasha Gibson, Sara Lovato, Tiana Mergleman, Emily Mundy, Kaitlin Nicolas, Jacob Solseth and Haley Turley.

Four qualify for forensics tournament


Four students from Western Slope high schools qualified at a tournament Feb. 8–9 at Ouray High School to participate in the National Forensic League’s national tournament this summer in Birmingham, Ala.

The students are Rachel Gallagher of Grand Junction High School; Nathan Levingston and Rocco Labriola, both of Central High School; and Daniel Degenhardt of Ouray High School. All four will compete in mock congressional events.

Grand Junction students Sam Vidlock, Nick Jones and Zoe Wright qualified to be second alternate, fifth alternate and seventh alternate, respectively, to the national tournament.

Other students may qualify for nationals in other, non-legislative categories at state qualifications and the CHSAA state yournament next month.

Art, community scholarships available


■ The Montrose Visual Arts Guild is offering a $600 scholarship to an art student in the Montrose or Olathe area. Applicants must intend to pursue an art-related degree leading to a career in the arts or art education and submit an application, portfolio and artist’s statement. Details and applications are available at the guidance offices of Montrose and Olathe high schools. The application deadline is March 30.

■ The Cindy Watson Foundation Scholarship recognizes individuals who demonstrate accountability, contribute to their own goals and plan to continue their involvement in their community after college graduation.

Seniors who will graduate in 2013 from Montrose, Olathe, Ouray, Ridgway, Norwood, Delta and Central high schools and who plan to attend a four-year accredited college or university in Colorado are eligible. Applications are available at the high school guidance offices. The deadline to apply is April 30 or earlier as determined by each individual school.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy