Student Spotlight, March 3, 2014

■ Kierra Aiello, a 2012 graduate of Grand Junction High School, was named to the fall 2013 semester dean’s list at the University of Denver, where she is majoring in music and art history.

■ Samantha Parks of Grand Junction was named to the fall 2013 semester dean’s list at the University of Iowa in Iowa City, Iowa.

■ Gillian McLean of Grand Junction was named to the fall 2013 semester dean’s list at Wingate University in Wingate, N.C.

■ Keith Rockwood was named to the 2013 fall semester dean’s honor list in the College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at Colorado State University in Fort Collins.

Scholarship applications are available

Applications are now available for the Cindy Watson Foundation Scholarship for upcoming graduates of Montrose, Olathe, Ouray, Ridgway, Norwood, Delta or Central high schools, who plan to attend a four-year accredited college or university in Colorado.

Application deadline is April 25 or earlier, determined by each individual high school.

Applications are also available for the Bosom Buddies Scholarships for upcoming graduates of schools in Montrose, Ouray and San Miguel counties. Applicants will need to meet requirements to be eligible, including having a parent or guardian diagnosed with breast cancer.

Email Pat Meyer at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) or call 249-6088 for information on these two scholarships.

Central sends 9 to state speech tourney


The Central High School Speech and Debate Team earned spots Saturday at a tournament in Montrose to qualify nine members for the Colorado High School Activities Association’s State Speech Tournament later this month at Valor Christian High School.

Those who qualified from Central are Mateo Parsons (Lincoln-Douglas Debate), James Shreve, (Lincoln-Douglas Debate), Charles Fedler (Lincoln-Douglas Debate), Ben Gurka (Lincoln-Douglas Debate), Nathan Levingston and Wyatt Hurt (Public Forum Debate), Alissa Ehlers (Interpretation of Humorous Literature), Nicole Nickerson (Interpretation of Dramatic Literature), and Ana Eckhart (Original Oratory). Mary Katherine Gorsuch and Maxwell Solko were picked as first alternates.

Ten regional teams will spar this weekend at Grand Junction High School for eight slots to go to nationals.

Submit student achievement news by email to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address), by fax at 244-8578, or by mail to P.O. Box 668, Grand Junction 81502.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy