Student Spotlight, March 31, 2014




■ Rebekah Bossard was awarded the $1,000 Chapter N, P.E.O. Community Scholarship to Colorado Mesa University for the coming year. The philanthropic education organization is international and offers opportunities to women with scholarships and low-interest loans and supports operation of Cottey College.   

■ Ronald Williams of Loma was named to the fall 2013 semester dean’s list at Berklee College of Music in Boston. 

Juniper Ridge fundraiser set today

Juniper Ridge Community School will sponsor a fundraiser from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. today at Texas Roadhouse.

Tickets are $10 for an adult lunch and $5 for a child’s ticket.

Pinnacol scholarships are available


Applications are available now for the 2014-15 Pinnacol Scholarship at Applicants must be 16–25 years old, plan to attend an accredited postsecondary institution recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and have a parent who was seriously injured or killed in a work-related accident while employed by a Colorado-based employer.

The average scholarship award is $3,500 per student. Applications are due April 15.

R-5 High School plans spring yard sale


R-5 High School will sponsor a spring yard sale from 8 a.m. to noon April 19 on the school’s front lawn on the southeast corner of Seventh Street and Grand Avenue.

Students will sell bakery items, refurbished bikes and gently used books, and provide entertainment. Proceeds will benefit the Joe Roscoe Scholarship Fund and other R-5 activities.

Limited space will be available for community members to sell their own items for a suggested donation of $25.

Email Al Kreinberg at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) for information or to reserve a space.

Music teacher named to Hall of Fame


Retired School District 51 music teacher Gary Ambrosier has been named to the Colorado High School Activities Association Hall of Fame Class of 2013.

Ambrosier served as a teacher, music supervisor, judge, judge trainer and site host for numerous music events. He taught in Grand Junction, Glenwood Springs, Bayfield and Michigan schools and earned the 2009 CHSAA Distinguished Service Award.

The induction ceremony for the 2013 inductees took place in January in Denver.

3 receive Teacher of the Year honors


The Montrose Education Foundation awarded its annual Teacher of the Year Award to three Montrose and Olathe School District teachers at a reception at the Holiday Inn in Montrose.

The teachers selected are Nora Waldow, a second-grade teacher at Johnson Elementary School; Teresa Brown, a seventh-grade math and science teacher at Columbine Middle School; and Mark Bollinger, a science teacher at Montrose High School.

The program recognizes teachers for contributions to school, community and school district. Forty-four were nominated this year and introduced during last November. Twenty educators completed the candidate questionnaire. The recipients each received $500 from Alpine Bank and the Montrose Education Foundation.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy