Counties eligible for disaster funds after spring freeze

Mesa, Delta, Montrose and Garfield counties are now eligible for disaster assistance from the Farm Service Agency, U.S. Sen. Michael Bennet, D-Colo., announced Wednesday.

The counties were declared “primary disaster” areas based on losses suffered from frosts and freezes during April and May. Additionally, Gunnison, Ouray, Pitkin and San Miguel counties were designated as “contiguous disaster” counties.

The designations make all eight counties eligible for assistance, including emergency loans.

“There’s no denying that Colorado enjoys ideal conditions for farming and ranching, but each new season also brings its own set of weather challenges. Whether it’s persistent drought or freezing cold conditions, both extremes can have devastating effects on our agriculture industry,” Bennet said in a news release.

Farmers in the eligible counties have eight months from the date of the disaster declaration to apply for assistance.

Local FSA offices can provide farmers and ranchers with additional information.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy