Daniels Fund Scholars chosen

Nine students from Mesa, Montrose, Delta and Eagle counties have been named 2014 Daniels Fund Scholars, the same number as last year.

The Daniels Fund, a Denver-based scholarship and grant-giving organization named after cable television pioneer Bill Daniels, announced Friday that it will grant scholarships to 260 high school seniors who are starting college in 2014-15, including 180 students from Colorado, 40 from New Mexico, 23 from Wyoming, and 17 from Utah.

The four-year scholarship covers a student’s expenses not covered by other scholarships or financial aid to attend an accredited nonprofit college or university in the United States. Daniels Scholars also get a laptop computer.

More than 3,000 students applied for the scholarship this year. Daniels Scholars are selected based on commitment to community, leadership and character.

Fruita Monument High School has two Daniels Scholars this year: Julia Terry and Wade Toothaker. Paonia High School also has two Daniels Scholars for 2014: William Austin and Skylar Simpson.

Other Daniels Scholars are: Maxwell Watson of Caprock Academy, Shalynn Murphy of Montrose High School, Julia Ebert of Delta High School, Peter Williamson of Cedaredge High School, and Felipe Martinez of Basalt High School.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy