GJ council chooses Hill to be mayor

-Bruce Hill receives congrats from City Clerk Stephanie Tuin after she swore him into another, although not contiguous, term as Mayor of Grand Junction at City Hall Monday night.

Tom Kenyon raises his right hand as he is sworn in to his new seat on the Grand Junction City Council by city clerk Stephanie Tuin Monday at the City Hall auditorium.

Bruce Hill found himself back in a familiar seat Monday night — that of mayor of Grand Junction.

Hill, who served as mayor in 2004 and 2005, was appointed again to the largely ceremonial position during the first meeting of the new City Council. Councilwoman Bonnie Beckstein nominated Hill for mayor, and the council unanimously affirmed his appointment.

No other nominations for mayor were made.

Councilwoman Teresa Coons was chosen mayor pro-tem for a second consecutive year.
Gregg Palmer, who served as mayor for the past year, asked the council not to nominate him for a second term, citing family and business considerations.

Under the current form of government, spelled out by the city’s 1925 charter, residents do not vote for the mayor. The position is filled by an annual spring vote by council members. The council member appointed mayor can serve in that capacity for up to two years.

The selection of the mayor came hours after new council members Tom Kenyon and Bill Pitts, with re-elected holdovers Bonnie Beckstein and Teresa Coons, were sworn in at City Hall.

Kenyon and Pitts took over for Jim Doody and Doug Thomason, who decided not to seek second terms.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy