GOP retains three seats
 on Delta County commission

Republicans will keep the three seats on the Delta County Commission, after the lone contested seat, for District 3, was won by fourth-generation Paonia rancher J. Mark Roeber.

Republican C. Bruce Hovde will continue to hold the District 2 seat, as he ran unopposed in Tuesday’s race.

Roeber was able to win 73 percent of the total vote, as of late Tuesday night, easily defeating Democrat Scott Wilson of Hotchkiss, who earned 27 percent. A write-in candidate, Republican Mike Mason, was not able to draw enough votes from Roeber to make the race close. Roeber received 10,566 votes, compared to 3,971 for Wilson.

A central issue in the race has been two controversial egg-laying facilities that Delta County commissioners approved and for which they recently reaffirmed their support. While Roeber has said he supports Colorado’s broad Right to Farm law, under which the egg farms fall, he has expressed concern about the commercial nature of the farms.

That hedge on the Right to Farm law drew the Republican write-in candidate Mason into the race. But even with another Republican vying for the seat, albeit by write-in, Roeber was still able to cruise to victory.

No Democrat has held the seat in 18 years, Wilson said during the campaign, and that streak will hold up after Tuesday’s results. Roeber takes the seat currently held by Republican R. Olen Lund, who is term-limited.

District 2 in Delta County, represented again by Hovde, covers much of the north-central area of the county, including north Delta, Orchard City and Cedaredge. District 3, which now will be represented by Roeber, covers the eastern portion of Delta County, including Hotchkiss, Paonia and Crawford.

The District 1 seat on the commission, currently held by Republican C. Douglas Atchley, isn’t up for election until 2015.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy