Junior will graduate in May, ending career tied for rushing record

Mesa State star running back Bobby Coy figures it’s ... Time for the next step

Mesa State RB Bobby Coy.

The fact that he needs one more yard to become Mesa State’s all-time leading rusher isn’t enough to change Bobby Coy’s mind.

The junior running back, who is the only unanimous first-team All-RMAC selection this season, has decided to forgo his final season of eligibility and turn his focus to school and life after college.

“With myself graduating (in May) and the different opportunities, this was my last year,” Coy said Wednesday. “Right after fall camp I got the idea this would be it, but I didn’t voice it to anyone. I’m a
senior now and if I came back it would be my redshirt senior year.

“The whole aspect of going to school is to take the next step. It’s time for me to take that next step.”

That step is to finish his undergraduate studies and go to work in the business administration field.

“All the coaches understood,” Coy said. “My intentions are to advance myself. I’m going to get some work experience, then come back to Mesa and continue with the master’s program.”

The Harlon Hill Trophy candidate leaves tied with Michael Vaughn as Mesa’s all-time leading rusher with 4,161 yards and Mesa’s single-season rushing leader with 1,600 yards this season, which ranked third-best in Division II.

This season was the only one Coy didn’t miss a game because of an injury.

In 2005, he missed two games with an ankle injury. He sustained a season-ending knee injury in the third game of the season at Western New Mexico in 2006 and received a medical redshirt year. He injured the same knee against Western New Mexico again in 2007, but only missed two games and returned to lead the Mavericks to the NCAA Division II playoffs.

“All these records are great,” Coy said. “I love them all. It will be great to look back and see I’m tied for the all-time leading rusher record, but I’ve never been into sports for records. I do it for the camaraderie.

It just happens that individual accolades go with it.”

The camaraderie is part of the reason Coy decided to call it a career.

“All my good friends I came to Mesa with are seniors,” Coy said. “It would be tough coming back knowing they won’t be back.

“I took the entire season thinking, ‘should I come back or should I not?’ I talked to my parents and my girlfriend nonstop. They said it sounded like it was time to move on. I’ll look back on Mesa football and all the great things it provided for me. I can’t express my gratitude enough. I’m happy with (the decision).”

Mesa State coach Joe Ramunno is obviously saddened, but understands.

“He spent five years here,” Ramunno said. “It’s tough. We got a lot from him. There are a lot of young guys who can take great traits from him.”

Coy leaves with plenty of tailbacks to compete for his spot next fall, junior Kyle Britton, redshirt freshman Joey Applehans and freshman J.R. Hamm, who redshirted this season.

“The decision would be much harder if not for the great talent behind me,” Coy said. “KB (Britton) has some great experience and Joey proved himself. Watching J.R. Hamm, he displays a bunch of talent.

He has a body of Danny Woodhead. Those three are talented and have great years ahead of them.”

Coy received his final All-RMAC award Wednesday, and was joined on the first team by seniors Jared Keating (kicker), Trevor Wikre (offensive lineman), Ryan Kadavy (linebacker) and Brandon Waymire (safety).

Keating is the RMAC special teams player of the year. The senior from Cody, Wyo., made 15 of 18 field goals and was sixth in the nation with an average of 1.5 field goals per game.

Mesa (6-5, 6-3 RMAC) started the season nationally ranked, but finished fourth in the RMAC and missed the Division II playoffs, losing its final three games.

“We had a lot of talent, but that’s why it’s so disappointing not to still be playing,” Ramunno said. “It’s neat Bobby was a unanimous pick. It’s good to see Trevor, Kadavy, Waymire and Keating on the first team. We were fortunate to get them on it.

“I love this group of guys and the effort they put forth.”

Keating, Coy, Wikre and Kadavy are all repeat first-team selections.

Mesa State senior quarterback Phil Vigil, senior tight end Maurice Manley, senior defensive end Nic Pade, sophomore defensive lineman Tony Kelly and junior safety Aaron Silverthorn made the second team.

Senior offensive lineman Chris Dennehy, sophomore offensive lineman Ryan Swope, sophomore punter C.J. Smith and sophomore kick returner Griffin Chernoff made the third team.

Chadron State, which won the RMAC title for the third consecutive year, had 10 first-team selections, four second-teamers and one on the third team.

Senior quarterback Joe McLain is the RMAC offensive player of the year and Bill O’Boyle is the coach of the year.

“Our league has gotten very competitive,” Ramunno said. “Chadron is the main reason for that. They’ve made everyone get better.”

Fort Lewis senior linebacker Mark Meng is the RMAC defensive player of the year.

Nebraska-Kearney quarterback Jake Spitzlberger and CSU-Pueblo defensive end Grant Jansen are the RMAC offensive and defensive freshmen of the year, respectively.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy