Mesa among 20 counties to receive crop damage relief

Mesa County and several other western Colorado counties are eligible for federal assistance because of crop damage from drought and frost.

Gov. Bill Ritter announced Monday that the U.S. Department of Agriculture has granted a disaster designation to 20 Colorado counties.

The governor’s office said a wet spring last year turned into a very dry summer, damaging a variety of crops in Dolores, Mesa, Montezuma, Montrose and San Miguel counties.

Those counties, along with Delta, Garfield, Gunnison, Ouray, Pitkin and San Juan, are eligible for federal assistance.

On the Front Range, an early frost and freezing temperatures last October damaged unharvested apples in Fremont County.

That county, along with Chaffee, Custer, El Paso, Park, Pueblo, Saguache and Teller counties, are eligible for federal assistance.

The designation means farmers are eligible for Farm Assistance Agency emergency loans and the FSA’s Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

  • Therapist

    Solutions WellnessCenter, a newly established innovative behavioral h...

  • Government

    EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES Criminal Justice Services Criminal Justic...

  • Cna's

    Now HiringOT & PTAFor home healthApply in person1131 ...

  • Qa Analyst

    Quality AssuranceAnalyst(Real Estate)Asset Valuation a...

  • Jump Start Job Fair

    Get Ready toJump Start 2015And Get That Job!Jump Start 201...

  • Electronic Tech Jobs

    ATTENTION VETS!in the FAA. VRA Eligibleapplicants only.Ap...

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
Subscribe to print edition
Sign in to your account

© 2015 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy