Nine seniors named Daniels Scholars

Nine students from Mesa, Montrose, Delta and Garfield counties were named Daniels Fund Scholars this week.

Each student will receive a four-year scholarship to a U.S. college or university. The scholarship will cover all educational costs that are not paid by grants, financial aid or other scholarships.

Nearly 3,000 high school seniors from Colorado, Utah, Wyoming and New Mexico applied for the scholarship this year and 250 will be awarded a scholarship after graduating high school this spring, according to the Daniels Fund website. Seven out of 10 winners this year are from Colorado. Winners are selected based on character, leadership skills and volunteer efforts.

Some of the semifinalists were informed they won a scholarship Wednesday during a visit to the state Capitol. All applicants will receive letters this week informing them whether they are scholarship finalists.

Mesa County has three Daniels Scholars from the Class of 2013: Erica Maestas of Fruita Monument High School, Russell Tsinnijinnie of Grand Junction High School and Deanna Wright of Central High School. Palisade High graduate Mercedez Amelia Taylor was the only Daniels Scholar from Mesa County last year.

This year’s Daniels Fund scholarship winners from Montrose County are Montrose High seniors Christian Gray and Emma Card and Olathe High senior Bethany Hines. Montrose County had two Daniels Scholars last year.

Kati Evans of Hotchkiss High School and Colton Ensley of Cedaredge High School are this year’s winners from Delta County. The county had five Daniels Scholars last year.

Garfield County had a single Daniels Fund Scholar this year — Eli Boone of Rifle High School. That’s down from two last year.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy