Regional downtown projects cited for governor’s awards

Downtown revitalization projects in Rifle, Meeker and Glenwood Springs will receive praise next month at the 2014 Governor’s Awards for Downtown Excellence Dinner and Reception Sept. 11 at the Lincoln Center in Fort Collins.

The annual awards ceremony, which began in 2003, recognizes municipal projects and individuals dedicated to community restoration and modernization. All projects set to receive awards this year were completed between Sept. 1, 2010, and May 30, 2014.

The Rifle City Council and New Ute Theatre Society are getting the Best Adaptive Reuse or Rehabilitation Award for restoring the Ute Theater Event Center at 132 E. Fourth St.

The Best Small Town Public Space Project Award is going to the Meeker Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 5843, Rio Blanco County, the town of Meeker and Meeker artist John Kobald for their work on the Rio Blanco County Veterans Memorial.

The Glenwood Springs Downtown Development Authority, the city of Glenwood Springs, Garfield County, the Garfield County Library District, Colorado Mountain College and the Glenwood Springs Chamber of Commerce will share the Downtown Excellence Award for Best Group Effort or Multi-jurisdictional Cooperation.

Other awards to be handed out and their recipients are:

■ Best Adaptive Reuse for Public Space: city of Victor and DHM Design for the Brian’s Park Ice Rink.

■ Best New Construction, Infill, or Redevelopment: Loveland Urban Renewal Authority, the city of Loveland, Brinkman Partners and Woodbury Strategic Partners for The Gallery Flats.

■ Best Façade Program (two winning groups): Longmont Downtown Development Authority and the city of Longmont for the Alleyscape Facade Program; and Slaterpaull Architects Inc., the city of Fort Collins, Fort Collins Downtown Development Authority, Palmer Properties, LLC and the Colorado State Historical Fund for the Avery Block Façade Rehabilitation Project.

■ Best Urban Public Space Project: Larimer Square Backyard, by Downtown Denver Partnership, Larimer Square, and the Master’s of Urban and the Regional Planning Program at the College of Architecture and Planning at the University of Colorado Denver.

■ Best Promotional Event: Town of Morrison Events and Promotions Committee for the First Annual Morrison Alley Fest.

■ Best Marketing and Branding: Ridge at 38 Leadership Committee in Wheat Ridge for the Ridge at 38 Brand and Marketing Plan.

■ Community Creativity Award: Downtown Longmont Creative District.

■ Colorful Colorado Award: Greeley Creative District.

■ Best Downtown Management Program: city of Trinidad.

■ Vicki Mattox Downtowner of the Year: John Manka of Castle Rock.

■ Consultants for Public Good: Hazel Hartbarger, executive director of the Arvada Economic Development Association; and Beth Parish, affiliate faculty member at Regis University.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy