Robinson named 
SWL’s top player

Junior guard joined on first team by fellow Tiger Wells

Broderick Robinson entered the season as one of the must-see players in the Southwestern League.

He finished the season as the SWL’s top boys basketball player, receiving the player of the year award Monday, as voted on by the league coaches.

Robinson, a 6-foot junior guard, averaged 15.6 points and 5.2 rebounds a game for the Tigers, with 25 steals.

He was joined on the first team by the Tigers’ 6-7 sophomore post, D.J. Wells, who averaged 11.4 points and 6.2 rebounds a game.

Also on the first team is Fruita Monument big man Spencer Fair, who averaged 13.8 points and 7.2 rebounds a game for the Wildcats and Trey Fair of Central, who led the Warriors with 13.6 points a game.

Angelo Youngren of Montrose (10.3 points, 2.5 rebounds), Nick Hamlin of Durango (7.7 points) and Alex Lopez of Montezuma Cortez also made the boys first team.

Dutch Johnson, who led the Tigers to the SWL title with a 9-1 record, was selected the coach of the year. Grand Junction’s season ended at 18-6 when the Tigers lost to Regis Jesuit 67-42 in the Class 5A state tournament.

Lauren LaBonde’s 12.2 points per game and 63 steals led the Wildcats to the SWL title and into the Class 5A playoffs.

LaBonde was selected the SWL girls player of the year and was one of three Wildcats on the first team.

Sam Parks, who scored 10.4 points a game, and Kassidy Fair, who added 8.8 points a game, made the first team, along with two players each from Grand Junction and Montrose.

Sydni Brandon, the Tigers’ sophomore point guard who averaged 10.7 points and four steals a game, made the first team along with teammate Elisa Jahnke, who chipped in 5.9 points and 4.2 rebounds a game.

Kala Keltz, who led the Indians to a 20-5 season by scoring 11.8 points a game, with 5.2 rebounds a game and 67 assists, was also a first-team pick, as was teammate Tess Skoe.

Skoe scored 7.5 points a game and had 76 assists and 45 steals for the Indians, whose season ended with a loss to Broomfield in the Class 4A quarterfinals.

Richard Atkins, who led Fruita Monument to the SWL title in his first season, was selected the girls coach of the year.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy