School Board members to be sworn in

Three current or future District 51 School Board members will take the oath of office at 5 p.m. Tuesday at the Basil T. Knight Center, 596 N. Westgate Drive.

Board President Greg Mikolai will be sworn in for his second term. Board member John Williams, who Mikolai appointed to the board in August after the board was unable to reach a majority vote to select a new member to replace the late Harry Butler, will be sworn in for his first full term. Candidate-elect Tom Parrish will be sworn in for his first term as well.

Parrish will replace outgoing Board Vice President Leslie Kiesler in District D. Mikolai and Williams are in districts E and C, respectively.

Tuesday’s special meeting agenda includes certification of the Nov. 5 election results, a swearing-in ceremony and selection of a board president, vice president, secretary/treasurer, assistant secretary/treasurer, and liaisons to the Grand Valley Board of Cooperative Educational Services and the Colorado Association of School Boards Delegate Assembly.

Since the last time new board members were sworn in two years ago, Mikolai has served as president, Kiesler has been vice president, board member Ann Tisue has been the board’s representative to Grand Valley cooperative services, and board member Jeff Leany has been the board’s representative for the assembly. The secretary/treasurer is Superintendent Steve Schultz’s administrative assistant, Terri Wells, and the assistant secretary/treasurer is District 51 School Board Administrative Assistant Bridget Story.

School board members vote among themselves for the officer positions, traditionally by secret, paper ballot.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy