Student of the Week: Shayla Hazelhurst, Central H.S.

Shayla Hazelhurst

Name: Shayla L. Hazelhurst

School: Central High School

GPA: 3.65

After-school activities: Working, girls basketball manager.

Favorite book: “My Sister’s Keeper” by Jodi Picoult.

Favorite TV shows: “One Tree Hill” or “Friends.”

Favorite Web site: Google. It knows everything you don’t know.

Most played song on your iPod: Anything by Jimmy Buffett.

Parents: Jim and Lyn Hazelhurst.

Personal hero and why: My dad. When times are rough on him, he is still the one who cares more about other people than he does about himself. He taught me everything I know, and I could never thank him enough.

Preferred college: Johnson and Wales University or Fort Lewis College.

Preferred career: Sports management/administration.

Greatest achievement so far: Being a three-year and soon-to-be four-year letter-winner for academics is a big accomplishment to me, but I think that being able to overcome some obstacles that have been placed in my way these last five years is an even bigger accomplishment, and I couldn’t have done it without the support of my family and friends.

What you’d like to be your next greatest achievement: To be the third in my family to graduate from college and begin the career of my dreams.



Q: What has been your favorite class in high school and why?

A: Spanish, because I learned about something completely different than what my lifestyle is, and my teacher was the greatest.


Q: How do you prepare for a big test?

A: I try to keep up through the weeks and take a little time every night to just briefly go over notes, so I am prepared for the next day. The night before, I always take a couple hours and complete the review or chapter review in the book so that I can refresh my mind on all that was taught. I try not to cram everything the night before because that just makes for a long night.


Q: If you could have your pick of service projects, who would you help and how?

A: I would love to coordinate an Olympic-type event for children who are unable to participate in regular sporting events. I would work with my dream of being a sports manager and put together an event that I would run annually that was just for underprivileged kids.


Q: What does it say under “interests” on your Facebook page?

A: Spending time with my family, being with friends, teaching my nieces new things, eating sushi, camping, fishing, playing board games and just having a good time.


Q: What’s the best advice a teacher, coach or parent has ever given you?

A: Growing up, my dad always told my siblings and I to “go for it.” If it was our dream and we had our mind set for it, then do it, because later in life we will regret not pursuing our dreams. He always told us we could do or be whoever we wanted to be; all we had to do was work hard and get our heads straight. He always wants me to make my life better and do the things I dream about, because he never did.


Q: Where would you like to be in 10 years?

A: I’d like to be finished with college and start a career as a sports agent or coordinator at a recreational facility. I would also like to be working toward a master’s degree in sports management or business management.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy