West Slope towns decide ballot issues, pick leaders

Municipal elections were held across the state Tuesday, including in towns in and around the Grand Valley.

In Palisade, voters were asked whether the town should be allowed to publish legal notices by title only, rather than the long form notices currently published in full in local newspapers.

That measure was approved 249 to 93, according to unofficial results tallied Tuesday evening.

Also, Bennett Price, Robynn Sundermeier, Susan L’Hommedieu, David Edwards and Penny Prinster were voted to seats on the town’s Board of Trustees.

In the city of Delta, a municipal election was held in which current Mayor Ed Sisson defeated challenger Greg Turner for an at-large seat on the Delta City Council. Bill Raley was elected to the city council again after running unopposed.

Numerous questions were on the ballot in Parachute:

■ A measure to limit certain civic terms to three consecutive four-year terms passed by a vote of 36 to 8.

■ A measure that would allow expenditure and contract information to be posted to the town’s website instead of local newspapers passed by a vote of 36 to 10.

■ A question to generally prohibit mayoral and trustee contact with personnel except via the town administrator passed by a vote of 35 to 9.

■ Roy McClung was elected mayor with 41 of 42 votes cast, and two people were voted onto the town’s Board of Trustees: Thomas Rugaard and Timothy Olk. Mary C. Allbee and John Yadloski Jr. each received 23 votes, tying for the third spot on the board, so the final seat will need to be resolved later.

In Collbran, in addition to voting on an advisory measure regarding retail marijuana, voters elected Frank Jones mayor (unopposed) and elected four people to the board of trustees: Rebecca Schowalter, Eugene Stricklan, Vic Sturm and Tamara Entwistle.

In Silt, voters there rejected a measure to allow the town administrator to appoint the police chief, treasurer and town clerk, and Rick Aluise was elected mayor. Three trustees were elected, D. Aron Diaz, Dylan Lewis and Bryan Fleming.

And in Carbondale, Stacey Patch Bernot was elected mayor, running unopposed, and three people were elect to the town’s Board of Trustees: Katrina Byars, Alexander (A.J.) Hobbs and Frosty Merriott.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy