District 51 teachers retire, serve multiple years

At least 51 District 51 teachers, administrators and other staff will retire at the close of the 2011-12 school year.

The district honored each retiring educator at a staff appreciation event April 25 at Central High School. The district also honored 53 employees who have worked in the district for 20 years, 31 employees who have worked in the district for 25 years, and 14 employees who have worked in the district for 30 years, including Superintendent Steve Schultz. One employee, Thunder Mountain Elementary teacher Christina Hobbs, was honored for 40 years of service in the district.

Those retiring this year include:

Ann Baldwin, Dos Rios Elementary

Dean Blair, Career Center

Tina Brett, Fruitvale Elementary

Fred Bunker, Appleton Elementary

Helen Carbone, Fruita Monument High

Bob Carey, Palisade High

Herb Castelo, Grand Junction High

Cassie Cunningham, Wingate Elementary

Steve Cunningham, Fruita Monument High

Glenda Desserich, Grounds/Building Use

Robert Dunn, West Middle

Carla Eden, Taylor Elementary

Susan Elenz, Dos Rios Elementary

Sharon Gartner, Rim Rock Elementary

Cindy Granum, Central High

Ann Hanson, East Middle

John Harris, Fruita Middle

Marjorie Haun, Gateway School

Pat Holcomb, Grand Junction High

Sarah Hutchinson, Dos Rios Elementary

Sharon Jones, Mt. Garfield Middle

Rick Jussel, Grand Junction High

Shyrl Kaper, Wingate Elementary

Beth Kelley, Dos Rios Elementary

Karen Kiefer, Hawthorne Building

Fran Kohl, Taylor Elementary

Cristal Loehr, Fruita 8/9

Connie Lohmiller, Grand Mesa Middle

Elizabeth Martin, Fruitvale Elementary

Claudia Merluzzi, West Middle

Donna Miller, West Middle

Phyllis Montague, Lincoln Orchard Mesa Elementary

Dave Montoya, Grounds/Building Use/Transportation

Naomi Perea-Abeyta, Grand Mesa Middle

Gary Rhyne, Taylor Elementary

Deborah Rieger, Fruitvale Elementary

Jewel Rowley, Custodial

Tim Ruzin, Palisade High

Susan Sederstrom, Fruitvale Elementary

Bob Sherrill, R-5 High

Jane Shovick, Dos Rios Elementary

Ken Shovick, Lincoln Orchard Mesa Elementary

Cecilia Silva, Fruita Middle

Sandra Sinclair, Grand Mesa Middle

Gwen Smith, Wingate Elementary

Vicki Sonne, Wingate Elementary

Kristi Trumbo, Grand Mesa Middle

Linda Welch, Clifton Elementary

Kathy Wieker, Appleton Elementary

Diana Williamson, Dos Rios Elementary

Pody Woodman, Central High


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy