Election ballot deadline is Tuesday


Election questions and answers

Q: Can I vote in person?

A: No. Ballots can only be mailed or dropped off at designated sites.

Q: When is the last day I can mail my ballot?

A: At this point, the Mesa County Elections division does not recommend mailing ballots. There is a chance, but no guarantee, that a ballot mailed Monday will get to the elections office by Tuesday afternoon. Postmark dates don’t matter. All ballots must be received at the elections office by 7 p.m. Tuesday.

Q: Where can I drop off my ballot?

A: At the Old Mesa County Courthouse, 544 Rood Ave, in the motor vehicle registration office on the first floor or the elections office on the third floor; at the motor vehicle office in the east wing of Mesa Mall, 2424 Highway 6&50; at the motor vehicle office at Mesa County Fairgrounds, 2785 U.S. Highway 50; at the motor vehicle office in the Peachtree Shopping Center, 3225 Interstate 70 Business Loop, Unit A2, Clifton; or the at the motor vehicle office at Fruita Civic Center, 325 E. Aspen Ave.  All locations are open from 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday and 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday.

Q: I lost my ballot. What do I do?

A: Call the Mesa County Elections Office at 244-1662 and explain what happened. The office will issue a replacement ballot, but you’ll have to pick it up at the office on the third floor of the Old Mesa County Courthouse, 544 Rood Ave.

Q: What if I’m not registered to vote?

A: You’re too late. Everyone participating in this year’s election had to register with Mesa County by Oct. 5.

School board and term-limit questions dominate Tuesday’s general election in Mesa County.

Referred measures 1A, 1B and 1C ask whether term limits should extend from two consecutive four-year periods to three for Mesa County’s district attorney, sheriff and coroner.

District Attorney Pete Hautzinger and Sheriff Stan Hilkey are in their second terms. Hilkey’s term is up in 2010; Hautzinger’s is done in 2012. Dean Havlik was elected coroner in 2006.

The rest of the questions on a ballot will depend where the voter lives. Those living in School District 51 boundaries can choose between Greg Mikolai and Rose Femia Pugliese, both of Palisade, for the school board’s District E seat. Harry Butler and Leslie Kiesler are running unopposed in districts C and D, respectively. The three people elected will serve four-year terms on the school board.

Voters living within Plateau Valley School District 50 boundaries have four unopposed candidates to vote for: Michael R. Harvey in District A, Dawn Maurine Currier in District B, Kay Orton in District D and Judith Ann Skbrina in District E.

Voters living in District 50 will be asked whether term limits for school board members should be abolished in referred measure 3A. All four candidates this year will serve two-year terms on the school board.

The Delta County board of education has an election this year. Cheryl Hines is the lone candidate for District 2, while Tammy M. Smith and Brian Cambria vie for the District 4 spot, and Betsy Marston and Chad S. Campbell compete for the District 5 seat. The three candidates elected will serve four-year terms on the school board.

Residents of the Grand River Hospital District will consider referred measure 4A, which asks for a property tax increase to pay for construction, equipment and furnishings at hospital facilities, including a new long-term care facility. Voting yes will increase the district’s debt to $34 million with a repayment cost of $85 million maximum. The actual repayment is expected not to exceed $76 million because tax-exempt bonds are expected to be issued by the America Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 or under Build America Bond provisions.

Referred measure 5A will ask voters living in the Mesa Water and Sanitation District whether the sanitation district should eliminate term limits.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy