National Park committee appointed

Sixteen people from the Grand Valley will serve on a committee to explore upgrading Colorado National Monument to a national park.

The 16 members include the mayors of the three Grand Valley municipalities, a representative of the Mesa County Commission and several other groups and organizations.

Members were appointed by U.S. Rep. Scott Tipton, a Republican whose district includes the national monument, and U.S. Sen. Mark Udall, a Democrat.

Grand Junction Mayor Tom Kenyon
Fruita Mayor Ken Henry
Palisade Mayor Roger Granat
Mesa County Commissioner Steve Acquafresca
Former U.S. Rep. Scott McInnis
Grand Junction Area Chamber of Commerce President and CEO Diane Schwenke
Grand Junction Visitor and Convention Bureau Director of Sales Barb Bowman
Club 20 Executive Director Bonnie Petersen
School District 51 Board Member Greg Mikolai
Colorado National Monument Association Vice Chairman Jack Neckels
Colorado Canyons Conservation Area Association President Owen O’Fallon
Lynn Grose, Glade Park Community Association
Bill Hood, geologist
John Redifer, professor, Mesa State College
Daily Sentinel Publisher Jay Seaton
A member of the Glade Park ranching community to be announced

The committee is intended to encourage conversation and public meetings about the proposed change and to advise in the drafting of any legislation.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy