Student Spotlight, May 19, 2014

■ Caitlin Young of Grand Junction received a a bachelor’s degree in biology May 18 from the University of Kansas in Lawrence.

■ Wendy Thompson of Grand Junction received a master’s degree in dietetics May 3 from the University of West Virginia in Morgantown. Thompson was accepted to Anschutz Medical Center in Denver for a three-year program to become a physician’s assistant.

■ Jessica Gillis of Grand Junction received dual degrees May 16 from Colorado State University — a bachelor’s in environmental health with minors in Spanish and music performance (viola) and a master’s in radiological health sciences (health physics). Gillis has accepted a research position at Los Alamos National Laboratories.

■ David Timothy Schwenke of Grand Junction received a juris doctor from the College of Law at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln during ceremonies May 9-10.

■ Hannah Watts of Cedaredge presented a project April 24 titled “Feminists in the Bloggernacle: How the Internet is Changing the Way Mormon Women Talk About Themselves” at the Fort Lewis College School of Arts and Sciences’ annual Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities Symposium in Durango. Her major is anthropology.

■ The Redlands Lions Club awarded $1,000 scholarships to two Colorado Mesa University students for the 2014–15 school year. Cyrena Grasmic is a senior, and Mariah Weinke a junior. Funds were raised through various community projects such as the club’s chili supper and flag service project.

■ Area students earned degrees during spring graduation ceremonies May 9-10 at the University of Northern Colorado in Greeley.

From Delta: Ernest Baier, bachelor of science, chemistry; Angela Fedler, master of arts, educational leadership; Katey Laurita, bachelor of arts, elementary teaching, cum laude; Lea Sanford, bachelor of arts, history, secondary teaching; Cristobal Velasquez, bachelor of arts, history, secondary teaching; and Shelby Williams, bachelor of science, biological sciences, cell and molecular biology, bachelor of arts, philosophy, ethics and public policy. 

From Grand Junction: Katelyn Aust, master of arts, educational leadership; Dustan Blair, educational specialist, school psychology; Cayla Bresch, bachelor of science, chemistry; Yaneth Gutierrez, master of arts, foreign language; Alix Krey, bachelor of science, audiology and speech, language sciences; and Kathryn Langford, bachelor of arts, journalism, news-editorial.

Also from Grand Junction, Dillon Marshall, bachelor of science, business administration, marketing; Taylor Rahmann, bachelor of science, mathematics, secondary teaching; Shea Robison, bachelor of arts, elementary teaching; Daniel Scott, bachelor of arts, anthropology; Cassandra Torske, bachelor of music education, music education, instrumental music K-12, summa cum laude; Sara Trappett, master of arts, speech-language pathology; Jowana Wilkins, master of arts, special education; and Jack Wright, bachelor of arts, theatre arts. 

From Fruita: Taylor Gregis, bachelor of arts, psychology, bachelor of arts, journalism, public relations and advertising media.

From Hotchkiss: Kimberlyn Wellman, bachelor of science, audiology and speech, language sciences, cum laude.

From Montrose: Sarah DeJulio, bachelor of science, nursing; Justin Russell, bachelor of science, business administration, finance, bachelor of science, business administration, accounting; and Justin Walters, bachelor of arts, philosophy. 

From New Castle: Christine DeSimone, doctor of education, educational studies, citation for excellence, citation for outstanding dissertation.

From Palisade: Stephanie Wilson, bachelor of arts, interdisciplinary studies; and from Paonia, Marissa Aull, bachelor of arts, psychology. 

Submit student achievement news by email to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address), by fax at 244-8578, or by mail to P.O. Box 668, Grand Junction, CO, 81502.

Check out most popular special sections!

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy