Berk, Diamante, Moeller lead area’s all-state football honorees

Three area players — Grand Junction seniors Austin Berk and James Diamante and Rifle senior Ryan Moeller — were named to the Denver Post’s 2012 All-Colorado High School Football Team.

The team honors the top players regardless of the classification of their school, and it does not have an honorable-mention listing.

Berk and Diamante were named to the team as defensive linemen, while Moeller made the squad as an athlete, rushing for 3,002 yards as a running back and intercepting eight passes as a defensive back.

Valor Christian junior running back Christian McCaffrey was the offensive player of the year, and Mullen senior linebacker Patrick Healy was the defensive player of the year. Meanwhile, Eaglecrest senior safety Xavier Lewis received the Gold Helmet Award, which the Post gives annually to the state’s top senior player, scholar and citizen.

The Post also released all-state football teams for each classification:

Class 1A

Class 1A state champion Cedaredge was well-represented, led by Player of the Year Carter Wasser, a senior linebacker, while coach Brandon Milholland was named the 1A Coach of the Year.

The Bruins had three more first-team selections, all seniors, in wide receiver Cade Wasser, linebacker Dustin Stracener and defensive back Dante Markley. Earning honorable mention for Cedaredge are: junior running back Reid Gates; junior wide receiver Kyle Ward and sophomore offensive and defensive lineman Corey Reynolds.

State playoff semifinalist Hotchkiss put two seniors on the first team: tight end Conner Beard and linebacker Jacobe Galley.

Class 5A

Berk and Diamante are the area’s only 5A first-teamers, while Fruita Monument senior kicker Spencer Fair earned honorable mention.

Class 4A

Central senior wide receiver Josh Weller nabbed a spot on the 4A first team, while Montrose junior running back Angelo Youngren garnered honorable mention.

Class 3A

Moeller was a first-team running back and the Class 3A Player of the Year for 3A runner-up Rifle and was joined on the first team by fellow Bears Cody Beauford, a senior linebacker, and Kellin Leigh, a junior defensive back.

Also on the first team are Palisade senior athlete Luke McLean, a quarterback and linebacker, and Delta senior wide receiver Chris Black.

Receiving honorable mention are: Delta senior quarterback Mitch Whiteside; Palisade junior running back Dalton Hannigan; Palisade junior tight end Levi Hoaglund; Rifle junior defensive lineman Zach Bare; Palisade senior defensive lineman Caden Woods; Rifle junior linebacker Javier Nunez; and Delta senior athlete Robert Williams, a tight end and defensive end.

Class 2A

Grand Valley High School had two seniors on the 2A first team: wide receiver Trent Reidle and athlete Tanner Zimmerman, a running back and linebacker.

The Cardinals also had three honorable-mention recipients: junior quarterback Tyler Scott; senior tight end Stephan Padilla; and junior offensive lineman Keanu Kamanawa.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy