Bikers enjoy CMU’s Mad Cow Classic

Bikers head up Reeder Mesa Road on Sunday morning during Colorado Mesa University’s Mad Cow Road Race.

Josh Yeaton of the University of Colorado and Sarah Sturm of Fort Lewis are no longer runners-up.

They are winners.

Yeaton won the Colorado Mesa University Mad Cow Classic Men’s A Category road cycling race Sunday and Sturm won the Women’s A on Reeder Road in Whitewater.

Yeaton, who took second the past two years, was in a sprint to the finish with teammates Jeff Perrin and Mac Cassin. Yeaton finished the 72-mile race in 3 hours, 11 minutes and 20 seconds. Perrin took second in 3:11:21 and Cassin was third in 3:11:22.

“It’s good to finally pull off a win here,” Yeaton said. “I got in a break with two guys from Fort Lewis and four from CU. We sent a guy up the road to make Fort Lewis chase us. Then the three of us bridged it together, then broke away.

“We talked about who would win it, but we decided to all go for it.”

CMU’s Richard Geng placed 18th. Patric Rostel didn’t compete in the road race because of illness, CMU coach Rick Crawford said.

Sturm was a runner-up twice before winning Sunday.

She overtook two CU cyclists to win the Women’s A 58-mile race in 3:08:30. Colorado’s Abby Mickey took second in 3:08:40 and Heather Fischer was third in 3:08:58.

“I just wanted to win, so I picked it up,” Sturm said. “It helped passing a bunch of guys on the climb. I don’t know (how I did that); they were just going slow. It was like, ‘Good job teammates, I’m sorry you’re being chicked.’ I guess I had more in the tank. The thought of winning makes you go fast.”

Colorado Mesa sophomore Jacob Hadar took second place in the Men’s B 58-mile race in 2:43:45.

“Jacob has been consistent,” Crawford said. “He won’t be in B much longer.”

Payson McElveen of Fort Lewis took first place in 2:41:40.

The junior for Fort Lewis, who races professionally for Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory/DEVO Sweet Elite team, is from Austin, Texas.

“There was a rough hill and I just felt it, but it was a good race,” Hadar said. “It was hard making (the pack of cyclists) break, but for the second lap a group of five or six of us broke off.”

Mesa’s Cullen Easter placed sixth in 2:50:00.

Jackie Kabel of Colorado State won the Women’s B 30-mile race in 1:49:40. Colorado Mesa’s Natalie Lopez placed fifth and Taide Marquez was sixth.

Grand Junction High School graduate Cyrus Pearo, racing for the University of Denver, won the Collegiate Men’s C 30-mile race.

He finished the 30-mile race in 1 hour, 20 minutes, 40 seconds.

“This one was pretty tough because I was riding with a group of guys from CU the last five or 10 miles,” Pearo said. “I was with two of the CU guys and they were both working against me of course. The only thing that let me get away was a nice tailwind; otherwise I was toast.”

The University of Colorado’s Matt Hudson and Alex Ranum finished second and third right behind Pearo.

Stephen Cochran was Mesa’s top finisher in the Men’s C race with a sixth-place finish in 1:22:49.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy