Coaches vote Gates onto WSL hoops team

In a classy, heartfelt move, the Class 3A Western Slope League boys basketball coaches included Cedaredge High School’s Reid Gates as an honorary selection on the 2014 All-WSL team.

Gates was a standout basketball player and all-around athlete who died in September from accidental carbon monoxide poisoning.

He led the league in scoring a year ago as a junior after helping the football team win a state title and before winning the state high jump championship.

Grand Valley junior Sam Parker, who led the league in scoring this season and was one of the top scorers in Class 3A, is joined on the first team by teammate John Parker, a sophomore.

Cardinals senior Tyler Scott and sophomore Tanner McGee are honorable mention.

Cedaredge senior Trent Walker is the Bruins’ lone first-team selection, and senior Aaron Henrie is on the honorable mention team.

Olathe senior Trent Jole made the first team.

Aspen senior Trent Lichtenwalter was voted the player of the year, and Moffat County coach Eric Hamilton is the league’s coach of the year.

Rounding out the first-team selections are Aspen juniors Clayton Crawford and Evan Patzoldt; Coal Ridge seniors Andy Bowles, Alec Herrera and Richie Winkler; senior Taft Cleverly, junior Tyler Davis and sophomore Kort Hathhorn of Moffat County; Roaring Fork junior Ben Carpenter; and sophomore Brady Wilson from Gunnison.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy