Fruita Monument rewarded for stellar basketball season

The Fruita Monument High School boys basketball team had a special season in 2009-2010 by finishing 10-0 in the Southwestern League.

When the SWL All-Conference team was released Monday, the Wildcats’ success was rewarded.

Sophomore post player Drew Bridges was selected player of the year and was named to the first team.

“It’s fascinating to have a sophomore win that award,” Fruita Monument coach Dave Fox said. “But he was the best player on the league champ, and he’s put a lot of time into his game, and there were times when he was a force.”

Other Wildcats to be selected to the first team were guards TJ Pollock and Tyler Daniels. Steve Goff was named to the second team.

For leading the Wildcats to the worst-to-first turnaround, Fox was selected coach of the year. The veteran coach was quick to acknowledge his coaching staff of Tom Goff, Butch Thorpe, Andy Fox and Garrett Sudduth.

“(Coach of the year) reflects a staff that put in a lot of hard work,” Fox said.

Also given first team honors was Montrose’s Shad Jensen and Nathan Robertson. Grand Junction’s Tommy Powers and Central’s Josh Wells rounded out the first team.

“It was a tough league night in and night out,” Fox said. “There were good kids that you always had to prepare for.”

On the girls side of the SWL, Central’s Amy Kame was selected player of the year for the first time in her four years. Kame was selected to the first team for the fourth straight year.

Haleigh Higgins was also selected as a first teamer, and Stacey Kinnett was a second teamer. Central coach Todd Dixon was selected coach of the year.

“I think a team that goes 10-0 in league should have at least three players on there,” Dixon said.

Also on the first team were Grand Junction’s Fawn Brady and Paula Lage. Fruita Monument’s Sarah Hensley, Montrose’s Hannah Bowden and Durango’s Neely Surmeier rounded out the first team.

The all-conference teams were also released Monday for the Class 4A Western Slope League. Leading the way on the boys side was Palisade’s Jeremy Hayden, who was selected to the first team. Cody Bond and Kane Gunther were both named honorable mention.

League champion Glenwood Springs led the way with six selections and coach of the year in Greg Hire.

On the girls all-conference team, Palisade was led by Nicole Routhier, who was selected first team. Meghan Peters was selected honorable mention.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy