Mavs’ deBraga draws first-team RMAC honors

Trent deBraga led the RMAC in kick returns this season for Colorado Mesa University’s football team, averaging 25.7 yards per return.

The senior from Fallon, Nev., was the only first-team selection the Mavericks had on the All-RMAC football team, released Tuesday by the conference. He was a double honoree, though, making the third team as a safety, where he made 101 tackles, 42 solo, which were third on the team.

Two other Colorado Mesa players who ranked first in the conference stats were overlooked for first-team honors, but were recognized by the voting of conference coaches.

Sophomore running back Jake Cimolino, who led the RMAC in rushing yardage with 1,365 and per-game average at 124.1, made the second-team offense.

Jake Edmiston, a junior inside linebacker from Palisade, led the RMAC in tackles with 122 and made the third team.

Senior offensive lineman Matt Mankoff made the second-team offense, and junior punter Michael Brady made the third-team special teams list. Brady averaged 40.3 yards per punt for the Mavericks, who finished the season 4-7, 4-5 in the conference.

Colorado State University-Pueblo, ranked No. 1 in the nation, has the offensive player of the year, quarterback Ross Dausin, a senior from San Antonio, Texas, who set seven CSU-Pueblo single-season passing records this season. He also broke the ThunderWolves’ single-game record with 390 passing yards this season against Black Hills State.

Kevin Lindholm, a senior outside linebacker from Chadron State, is the defensive player of the year, and senior punter Taylor Accardi of Colorado School of Mines was selected the special teams player of the year.

Western New Mexico quarterback Mitch Glasmann was voted the offensive freshman of the year, and CSU-Pueblo inside linebacker Kevin Cuff the defensive freshman of the year.

CSU-Pueblo’s John Wristen was selected the coach of the year after guiding the ThunderWolves to an undefeated record, only the sixth school in RMAC history to accomplish that feat, and the No. 1 ranking in Division II football.

The ThunderWolves received a first-round bye in the playoffs, with Chadron State hosting West Texas A&M at noon Saturday.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy