Mesa State College football players Coy and Keating win national acclaim

BOBBY COY and TEAMMATE Jared Keating both were recently selected to two All-America lists.

Mesa State College football players Bobby Coy and Jared Keating accomplished a lot for the Mavericks and they continue to be recognized for it.

Coy and Keating were each selected to the and Don Hansen’s Football Gazette NCAA Division II All-America teams on Thursday.

They made the’s second team while Coy made Hansen’s Football Gazette second team and Keating made honorable mention.

“The good thing about it is they are both such great citizens,” Mesa State coach Joe Ramunno said. “They were very good students and worked in clinics and reading programs (for the youth).”

Coy rushed for a Mesa State single-season record 1,600 yards in 2008 and also made the Daktronics All-America second team. The junior from Littleton was also chosen the National Football Foundation Colorado Chapter offensive player of the year. He is tied with Michael

Vaughn in career rushing with 4,161 yards, but plans to graduate in May instead of returning.

“He represents everything you want in a young man and do with a student athlete,” Ramunno said. “He put five good years in there. This year, he had such a great year because he stayed healthy. That’s why he’s up there with Michael Vaughn.”

Keating made 15 of 18 field goals with a long of 52 yards for the Mavericks in 2008 despite missing two games with injuries. He made the NFF All-Colorado second team and was a Daktronics All-Region third team selection.

“He had to fight off injuries,” Ramunno said. “We weren’t able to go to him as much as we would’ve liked to.”

He participated in the Division II Cactus Bowl earlier this month and is drawing interest from
NFL scouts.

Abilene Christian (Texas) running back Bernard Scott and Minnesota-Duluth quarterback Ted Schlafke were chosen the Don Hansen’s offensive backs of the year. Scott won the Harlon Hill Trophy and Schlafke led the Bulldogs to the Division II national title. West Texas A&M’s Charly Martin is the receiver of the year.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy