Parity prevails: All-Southwestern Conference team has players from all over


2009 Southwestern League All Conference


QB — Holden Reed, Sr., Central; RB — Jordan Passehl, Sr., Montrose, Jayke Brock, Sr., Grand Junction, Gus Barnes, Sr., Durango; WR — John Sierra, Jr., Montrose, Chandon Rose, So., Grand Junction; TE — Dillon Lammon, Sr., Durango; OL — Bob Lovett, Sr., Durango, Kyle Miller, Sr., Montrose, Taylor Reed, Sr., Montrose, Twan Martin, Sr., Fruita Monument, David Acevedo, Sr., Central


DL — Braxton Franz, Sr., Montrose, Victor Guerrero, Sr., Central, Casey Walker, Jr., Grand Junction, Corey Stewart, Sr., Montrose; LB — Bryce Gaber, Jr., Montrose, Nico Rodriquez, Jr., Durango, Devon Wolff, Jr., Central; DB— Travis Duffle, Sr., Montrose, Gus Barnes, Sr., Durango, Keenon Coit, Jr., Fruita Monument, Vandon Sanchez, Sr., Central; P — Avery Llewellyn, Jr., Durango; KR — Jordan Passehl, Sr., Montrose.

Honorable Mention

A.J. Meil, Sr., Fruita Monument; Jerreon Dennis, So., Grand Junction; Jordan Gillen, Sr., Durango; Josh Buniger, Sr., Central; Mical Kramer, Sr., Central; Devin Dance, So., Fruita Monument; Mitch Irwin, Sr., Grand Junction; Kaelen Waters, Sr., Durango; Glayden Berry, Sr., Montrose; Nate Robertston, Jr., Montrose.

Offensive Player of the Year

Jordan Passehl, Montrose

Defensive Player of the Year

Gus Barnes, Durango

Co-Coaches of the Year

Todd Casebier, Montrose; Greg Wyatt, Durango

In the Southwestern Conference, 2009 was a very competitive year.

With four of the five teams making the playoffs, every game was a battle in the conference.

When the All-Conference team was released Monday, the parity showed.

“We have some great kids in the league this year,” Grand Junction coach Robbie Owens. “Our skill kids can match up with anyone in the state.”

No team dominated the first-team submissions more than another as league champion Montrose led the way with eight total selections. Durango and Central each had five total with Grand Junction finishing with three and Fruita Monument with two.

Leading the way for the Indians was running back Jordan Passehl, who was selected as a first team running back as well as being selected offensive player of the year. Passehl rushed for 1,538 yards and finished with 18 touchdowns. He also was selected as the All-Conference kick returner.

Passehl’s coach, Todd Casebier, was selected co-coach of the year for guiding the Indians to their fourth straight Southwestern Conference title. Durango’s Greg Wyatt was the other half of the co-coach of the year, as he was recognized for leading the Demons into the Class 4A playoffs.

Central’s Holden Reed earned first team quarterback honors. Reed put together a solid season, throwing for 949 yards and seven touchdowns.

Grand Junction had two players named to the first-team offense, as running back Jayke Brock earned the award for the second straight season. The Tigers’ other first-team offensive selection was sophomore wide receiver Chandon Rose. Rose was the only sophomore named to the first-team offense.

“Chandon has a great future,” Owens said. “Being the same age as Sean (Rubalcaba), they’ll be a good tandem together for another couple years.”

The offensive line was highlighted by seniors as Durango’s Bob Lovett, Fruita Monument’s Twan Martin, Central’s David Acevedo and Montrose’s Kyle Miller and Taylor Reed were all recognized.

The defensive player of the year was given to Durango’s Gus Barnes. He also was named as a first team defensive back. Also selected as a defensive back was Central’s Vandon Sanchez, who earned first team for the second year.

Defensive linemen honored were Montrose’s Braxton Franz and Corey Stewart, Central’s Victor Guerrero, and Grand Junction’s Casey Walker. Walker finished the year with 12 sacks and 49 total tackles.

First team linebackers were Montrose’s Bryce Gaber, Durango’s Nico Rodriquez and Central’s Devon Wolff.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy