Prater’s 2nd-place finish paces Mesa men’s golf team

Colin Prater led the Colorado Mesa men’s golf team again.

The freshman placed second to lead the Mavericks to a fourth-place finish Tuesday in the second Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference tournament of the 2013-14 season at Walking Stick Golf Course in Pueblo.

Prater finished the three-round tournament at 1-over-par 214. He shot a 72 in the third round after shooting even-par 71s in the first two rounds.

Jordan Arndt of Colorado School of Mines shot a 211 to win the medalist honor. The Orediggers won the team title with 873 strokes. Western New Mexico was second with 877, Colorado Christian took third with 898, and Mesa shot 899.

The Mavericks had their best round as a team Tuesday with a score of 294.

Mesa’s Sean Robbins was 21st with 227, Trenton Schwehr tied for 22nd with 228, Adam Griffith tied for 32nd with 230 and Billy Ramsey scored 249.

The Mavericks are done with the fall portion of the season. They pick up play again in the spring.

Women’s Soccer

Colorado Mesa senior defender Sam Burneo is the RMAC women’s soccer academic player of the year, the conference announced.

Burneo earned the award with a 3.92 grade-point average in kinesiology.

She is a three-time RMAC All-Academic first-team selection, a three-time All-RMAC performer, and a Capital One Academic All-District selection.

Nine teammates were selected to the honorable-mention honor roll. They are: Tayler Franklin (3.78 GPA, exercise science), Leilani Wiernicki (3.35, nursing), Veronica Rodriguez (3.52, mass communications), Paige Denke (3.36, sports management), Mikayla Ellsworth (3.46, fitness & health promotion), Kendra Penchoff (3.43, undecided), Sarah Pope (3.73, fitness & health promotion), Emma Thompson (3.48, kinesiology) and Ashley Wallace (3.38, fitness & health promotion).

Men’s Soccer

Colorado Mesa junior forward Stevie Palma made the RMAC men’s soccer all-academic team.

Palma posted a 3.6 GPA in business. He made the team for the third time in his career.

Eight teammates made the honor roll. They are: Micah Conrads (3.5, criminal justice), Kevin Escobar (3.41, athletic training), Sean Foster (3.88, finance & entrepreneurship), Tim Hofer (3.43, mathematics), Ethan Johnson (3.55, art education), Cory Rhodes (3.6, undecided), Stan Schrock (3.89, journalism) and Patrick Wall (3.72, marketing).


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy