Rifle boys basketball team sweeps top honors in 4A WSL

Rifle High School dominated the Class 4A Western Slope League basketball postseason honors that were released this week.

Rifle seniors Tanner Quick and Trenton Brown were selected co-players of the year, and Bears coach Roger Walters was the coach of the year.

The 6-foot-6 Quick was the dominant big man in the 4A WSL all season, often drawing double and triple teams. He averaged 13.6 points and eight rebounds per game. Brown averaged 10.3 points and 3.6 assists a game for the Bears.

After a slow start, Rifle dominated the league after the Christmas break. The Bears (18-5) finished 12-2 in league play and lost only once in the regular season after Jan. 1. The Bears lost to Durango in the Class 4A Southwestern/Western Slope League tournament title game before being knocked out of the 4A state playoffs in the second round by Mead.

A total of five Rifle players were recognized on the All-WSL team. Senior Wyatt Robinson joined Quick and Brown on the first team, and Clinton Farr and Tanner Rust received honorable mention.

Palisade’s Zach Marengo and Skyler Miller earned first-team honors for the Bulldogs. Both were all-league team last season, too. Tass Crow was an honorable-mention selection for Palisade.

Delta had three players recognized. Eian Baier was selected to the first team, and Keaton Reiher and Ryan Whiteside received honorable mention.

The rest of the WSL first team included: Cameron Horning and Jared Gambrel of Glenwood Springs; Carter Kounovsky and Zach Dunklin of Steamboat Springs; Summit’s Thomas DeBonville; and Battle Mountain’s Jerry Carrasco.

The postseason honors were voted on by league coaches at the end of the regular season.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy