‘Solid’ Baldwin selected Southwestern League player of the year

It seems only fair that Geoff Baldwin was selected baseball player of the year in the Southwestern League.

The 6-foot-5 senior guided the Tigers to a 15-4 record, hitting .583 at the plate with 10 home runs. Baldwin has been an example of consistency, being selected to the All-SWL team every year since he entered high school.

“He has been solid for four years,” Grand Junction coach Kyle Rush said. “It was a great credit to his play to receive the player of the year.”

Other Grand Junction players selected to the first team were outfielder Jayke Brock, shortstop Tim Gastineau and catcher Aaron Berk.

“That’s good because all those guys are juniors,” Rush said. “That is a good group to have coming back.”

Tigers pitcher Conner Dixon was selected to the second team.

Fruita Monument had three players selected to the first team, led by pitcher Rex Clemons. Right fielder Alex Mende and TJ Pollock were the other first-team selections for the Wildcats. Brackett Mays made the second team.

Central’s All-SWL players were led by Travis Key, who was selected as the designated hitter. Key hit .424 with 29 RBI. Lanny Baker was the only other Central player on the team.

Montrose sophomore Nathan Robertson was selected to the first team, making him the only athlete this year to be selected to the All-SWL team in football, basketball and baseball.

Durango coach Rob Coddington was the coach of the year.

The All-SWL team was also released for girls soccer, and league champion Central had three players on the first team. Goalie Savannah Moore was a first-team selection as well as being selected co-player of the year with Durango’s Katerina Garcia. Haleigh Higgins and Stacy Kinnett were also on the first team and Sarah Thomas and Alyssa Workman were both selected to the second team.

Grand Junction had three players make the first team: Stephanie Drake, Whitney Ravan and Danielle Erickson. Ashley Wallace, Jenna Hansen and Jenny Kelly were all selected to the second team.

Fruita Monument’s Kate Dusenbury was the only Wildcat on the first team and Siiry Bretey and Anna Woomer were both second-team selections.

Durango’s Aaron Eldridge was the coach of the year.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy