Fruita edges Dakota Ridge

Fruita Monument’s girls tennis team claimed a 5-2 victory over Dakota Ridge on Wednesday, getting a pair of singles wins and dominating the doubles, winning three of four matches.

Meredith Soychak claimed a 6-0, 6-2 win at No. 2 singles and Sierra Segrest won a tough 6-3, 6-4 decision at No. 3. The Wildcats’ top two doubles teams won, as did the No. 4 team of Amanda Charles and Kelsi Barnett, who rallied for a 6-2, 5-7, 10-3 victory.

Prep Golf

Central High School coach Casey Doss took his second group of golfers to Montrose so the young players could get a look at a tough golf course. It was a learning experience for the young Warriors on the Bridges course.

Brooke Heidt was the low scorer for Central, shooting a 105. Taylor Head carded a 107, Aundrea Ordonez shot a 111, Courtney Everett had a 122 and Hailey Bunk shot a 129 for the Warriors.

Prep Basketball

Players who make The Show all-star basketball team are usually destined for all-state status, and two Southwestern League players did just that.

Grand Junction’s Jamie Derrieux, a 5-foot-10 senior small forward, made the Denver Post’s Class 5A first-team all-state squad. Drew Bridges, a 6-4 senior forward from Fruita Monument, made the boys Class 5A second team. Bridges has signed to play baseball at New Mexico next year; Derrieux signed Wednesday to play basketball at Northern Colorado.

On the girls classification teams, Moffat County’s Melissa Camilletti and Delta’s Skylyn Webb made the 4A honorable mention team, Tawni Middleton of Olathe the Class 3A second team and Chante Church of Rifle, Bailey Everhart of Aspen, Megan Gianinetti of Roaring Fork, Ashlynn Speakmann of Grand Valley and Kylie Tait of Olathe were honorable mention all-state.

In Class 2A, Chelsy Reed of Paonia, a 5-5 junior guard, made the first team and sophomore Carson Pipher honorable mention. Norwood junior Harlie Williams made the Class 1A first team, with teammate Lindsey Stindt on the second team.

Nathan Hawley of Montrose and Mike McGraw of Glenwood Springs made the boys Class 4A honorable mention team. Austin Roark of Aspen made the Class 3A second team, with Darik Brown of Coal Ridge and Taylor Carlson of Olathe on the honorable mention list. Meeker’s Cooper Smith was selected to the Class 2A second team and Plateau Valley’s Teddy Grundy made the Class 1A second team, with Norwood’s Morgan Rummel honorable mention.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy