Mavs’ Bates-Olson earns RMAC Hall honor

Former Mesa State College women’s soccer player Cheryl Bates-Olson will be one of seven individuals and one team to be inducted into the 2014 Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Hall of Fame next summer, the RMAC announced.

Bates-Olson is the first soccer player (male or female) to be inducted into the RMAC Hall of Fame. The defender was the RMAC player of the year twice, a first-team All-RMAC selection four times and a three-time All-American.

Bates-Olson led the Mavericks to the RMAC Championship and an NCAA Division II playoff berth in 1998. In her career, Mesa won three RMAC championships and went to the NCAA Division II tournament three times. The Mavericks were 57-23-1 (35-12-1 RMAC) in her career.

The induction ceremony is July 11 at the Colorado Springs Marriott Center.

The other inductees are: Adams State cross-country runner Zoila Gomez (1998-2003), Colorado State coach Harry Hughes (1911-1937), Chadron State Sports Information Director Con Marshall (1989-2007), Adams State runner Rick Robirds (1984-1989), Nebraska-Kearney basketball player Eric Strand (1995-1999), Western State football player Charlie Thompson (1977-1979) and the 1989 Adams State women’s cross-country team.

Mesa places 4 on RMAC All-Academic team

Four Colorado Mesa cross-country runners made the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference All-Academic team, the RMAC announced.

Senior Melissa Bauer (3.55 GPA, exercise science), junior Shannon Emery (3.57, kinesiology) and sophomore Chelsea Lyons (3.93, nursing) made the women’s honor roll.

Senior Richard Seward made the men’s honor roll with a 3.61 GPA in business management.

To qualify for the RMAC All-Academic team, athletes must have a GPA of 3.3 or better, be a starter or reserve, and have completed two consecutive semesters or three quarters at their current institution.


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy