Tiger Trifecta

Grand Junction leads SWC football honor roll

Photo by Dean Humphrey—- Grand Junction football coach Robbie Owens guided the Tigers to the Class 5A state quarterfinals and was selected the Southwestern Conference’s coach of the year.

Photo by Dean Humphrey—Grand Junction quarterback Sean Rubalcaba was selected the Southwestern Conference offensive player of the year after leading the Tigers to an 11-1 record.

Photo by Dean Humphrey—Jerreon Dennis rushed for more than 2,000 yards this season but also played outstanding defense as a linebacker and Monday was voted the Southwestern Conference defensive player of the year.

The All-Southwestern Conference football teams have been released and Grand Junction, the undefeated league champion, had the most first-teamers with 10.

Following the Tigers was Montrose with six, Fruita Monument with five, Central with three and Durango with two.

For Junction, Robbie Owens was selected coach of the year, Sean Rubalcaba took offensive player of the year honors and Jerreon Dennis is the defensive player of the year.

Dennis, a linebacker, also had a 2,000-yard rushing season.

“(Dennis) was probably deserving of offensive consideration,” Owens said, “but I look at him and Sean as obviously the two best players in the conference and with Sean only an offensive guy it seemed like an easy match.”

Montrose coach Todd Casebier said he was satisfied with the number of his first-teamers, including sophomore running back Angelo Youngren.

“You’d always like to have a couple more kids on there,” Casebier said. “But I thought it was a fair representation of what the league was like.”

Notable for Fruita Monument was first-team linebacker Trey Thygerson, who was second in Class 5A in tackles with 138.

Fruita coach Sean Mulvey also thought the selections were just.

“And with the season Vince (Grasso) had with rushing yards, he was right up there in the top 10 of 5A, so I think he was the most dynamic back beside Jerreon,” Mulvey said.

Central coach Vern McGee said he was not surprised about the Warriors’ three selections of Dylan Johnson (linebacker), Taylor Sanchez (defensive back) and Kenny Chase (kick returner).

“We were pleased,” McGee said. “We hoped we’d have done better during the season. The Junction kids were real good and they deserved the players-of-the-year-type stuff.”


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Search More Jobs

734 S. Seventh St.
Grand Junction, CO 81501
970-242-5050; M-F 8:00 - 5:00
Subscribe to print edition
eTear Sheets/ePayments

© 2017 Grand Junction Media, Inc.
By using this site you agree to the Visitor Agreement and the Privacy Policy