The independent panel redrawing legislative district lines came out with its first preliminary maps Tuesday, ones that would make some significant changes to local Colorado House and Senate districts.

For starters, Senate District 7, currently represented by Sen. Ray Scott, R-Grand Junction, would again include parts of Delta County, but with two differences: It would be known as Senate District 6, and it would include the eastern half of Delta County. Before the last redistricting in 2011, that Senate seat covered the western half of Delta County.