The Colorado Mesa University men's and women's swimming teams took full advantage of their home-pool advantage Wednesday.

On the first day of the A3 Performance Invitational at El Pomar Natatorium, the Mavericks won five of the six events, including all four relay events.

The Maverick men won all three events, two with meet-record setting relay times, and set five combined NCAA provisional qualifying times to open an 11-point (195-184) lead over the Colorado School of Mines.

CMU's women also took both relays, set a 200-yard free relay meet record and hold an early 17-point (166-149) cushion over Mines.

The Mavericks started strong in the first final of the night, the 200 medley relay as Sarah Fillerup, Samantha White, Candice Rosen and Bret Congdon combined to win in a time of one minute, 43.71 seconds.

The Mavs then placed three individual swimmers in the top six of the 1,000 freestyle, the lone individual final Wednesday. Abbey Selin led the group, placing second in 10:38.25. Fellow sophomore Robyn Naze was third in 10:41.27 and junior Isabelle Hansson finished sixth in 10:47.88.

Congdon, Lauren White, Logan Anderson and Natalie Saul cruised to a time of 1:34.44 to win the 200 free relay. That time surpassed the 2017 meet record time of 1:34.82, which was just off the national provisional qualifying standard of 1:34.21.

The Mavs were even more dominant in the men's events as they placed first and third in both relays and finished 1-3-4 in the 1,000 free in between.

In the 200 medley relay, Lane Austin, Mahmoud Elgayar, Pedro Terres Illescas and Zander Minano combined for a time of 1:28.00 to blow last year's meet record time of 1:29.54 out of the water and easily going under the national qualifying standard of 1:28.85.

Jackson Wuthrich won the 1,000 free in a "B" cut time of 9:32.85. Torsten Rau (9:38.87) and Logan Ellis (9:42.01) also set provisional qualifying times to finish third and fourth, respectively.

In the final race of the night, Minano, Elgayar, Austin and Noah Vallee finished the 200 free relay in 1:20.54, well under the meet-record time of 1:21.31, set by the Mavs in 2017, and the national qualifying standard of 1:21.20.


Colorado Mesa freshman Justin White was selected the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference special teams player of the year Wednesday.

White, a freshman defensive back, averaged more than 38 yards per kickoff return, including a 100-yard touchdown return. White also returned a punt for a score for the Mavs.

White was a first-team selection as was sophomore safety Nick Ciccio. Ciccio had eight interceptions, returning three for touchdowns, and also had 14 pass breakups.

Making the second team for Colorado Mesa were senior wide receiver Peter Anderson, sophomore offensive lineman Caden Sink, defensive end Mason Newton and defensive tackle Reed Rowan.

Anderson finished third in the RMAC with 921 yards receiving, including eight touchdown receptions. Newton was second in the RMAC with 10 sacks and Rowan was third with 9.5. Newton has 70 total tackles, 22 for a loss and Rowan had 56 total tackles, 13.5 for a loss this season for Mesa.

Adams State wide receiver Tariq Bitson was the offensive player of the year; Colorado Mines quarterback John Matocha was the offensive freshman of the year; CSU-Pueblo defensive end Jackson Wibbels was the defensive player of the year; Adams State linebacker Brandin Obrecht was the defensive freshman of the year; and Colorado Mines' Gregg Brandon was selected the coach of the year.

Recommended for you