Sean Thomas earns second straight Colorado West Amateur win

CHRISTINA MARTIN/Special to The Daily Sentinel Sean Thomas hits the ball off the tee Sunday durning the Bookcliff Country Club's 2019 Colorado West Amateur golf tournament.

Sean Thomas was a model of consistency at the Tor Hayward & Major Mortgage Colorado West Amateur golf tournament over the past three days.

The Denver golfer opened the three-day tournament at Bookcliff Country Club with a 3 over par at 74, then shot two straight even-par 71s to win the championship flight of the tournament by six shots on Sunday.

His 3-over 216 was six shots better than Scott Sullivan, who had a choppy second round, at 221. Sullivan, who has won the tournament before, shot 72-77-72 in the tournament.

It was a second straight Colorado West Amateur victory for Thomas.

Another example of his consistency on the Bookcliff course is last year he shot a 2-over 215 to claim the victory

Thomas was tied for fourth at 74 after the first round.

Recent Eagle Valley High School graduate Barrett Jones had the first-round lead at 71.

Thomas took a four-shot lead after his second round 71.

In Saturday's second round, Clint Finkbinder had the low round of the tournament at 70, and was tied with Sullivan at 149, trailing Thomas by four shots going into the final round.

Finkbinder opened the tournament with a 79 and shot a 78 in the final round to finish in sixth at 227.

Chris Aiken finished in third place at 222, shooting 76-74-72.

Blake Murray was fourth at 223 and Mike Green was fifth at 225, posting a final round 71.

Jones and Anthony Komatz tied for seventh at 228 with Jacob Smith (229) in ninth, and in a tie for 10th was 2019 Fruita Monument High School graduate Blake Andersen and Rich Lee at 232.

Keith Humerickhouse, another former winner of the CWA, posted the second best three-day total at 219 to win the first flight tournament. He shot 72-71-76.

Sean Hazelhurst was second at 231.

Bill Schroeder, who had a second round 73 and posted a 236 total to claim the second flight title with Bob Rognmoe (240) in second.

James Narrod shot a 242 to win the third flight championship.

James Stelljes shot a 252 to claim a one-shot victory in the fourth flight over Rick Steffen.

Mark Hand shot 268 to win the fifth flight.

Recommended for you